Administrative structure

Local government and administrative units are collectively known as local councils.
Mbarara District Local government is organized hierarchically and is divided into five levels. Thus, Local Councils (LC) are along the following levels: village council (LC I), parish council (LC II), sub-county (LC III), Municipality/county council (LC IV) and district council (LC V). The LC III and Municipality (LC IV) are Lower Local Governments whereas Parish (LC II) and Village (LC I) are administrative Units. A full list of Administrative Units is available from the link below.

The Village
A village is the lowest political, administrative unit. A village consists of approximately 50 or more households. Each village is run by a local council – local council I (LCI) - and is governed by a chairperson (LCI chairperson) and nine other executive committee members. There are 757 villages in Mbarara District.

The Parish
The parish is the next administrative level up from the village. A parish is made up of a number of villages. Each parish has a local council II (LCII), made up of all the chairpersons from the village LCIs in the parish. Each LCII elects, from among themselves, an executive committee. Currently, LCIIs are largely involved in settling land disputes and community mobilization for various activities. The parish is run by a parish chief who provides technical leadership to the LCII. There are 83 parishes in Mbarara District.

The Sub-County
After the parish comes the sub-county. A sub-county is made up of a number of parishes. The sub-county is run by the sub-county chief on the technical side and by an elected local council III (LCIII) chairperson, supported by an executive committee. The sub-county also has an LCIII council, with a speaker and deputy speaker. The council consists of elected councilors representing the parishes, other government officials in the sub-county. In the Municipality, a sub-county is called a division. A full list of Sub-county Chairpersons is available from the link below.

The County
A county is made up of several sub-counties. Mbarara District has two rural counties: Rwampara and Kashari, and a municipality. Each county is represented in the national parliament by an elected member (MP). LCIII executive committee members of all the sub-counties constitute the local council IV (LCIV). The LCIV council elects an executive committee from among themselves. This committee has limited powers, except in municipalities, which has a local government council. Currently, there are eleven (11) sub-counties and six (6) municipal divisions.

The District
Mbarara district is made up of two counties and one municipality. A district is led by an elected local council V (LCV) chairman and his executive. There is also an elected LCV council, with representatives from the sub-counties and technical staff in the district.